Flexibility is key. And I’m not talking muscle length.

5 Jul

As my first travel assignment was coming to the end of its term, I finalized my next assignment: an extension for thirteen more weeks here in Tucson. Yup, no trip to Colorado for now!

An underlying theme to travel PT is flexibility. I had every intention to spend my summer in Colorado Springs, Denver, Boulder, Grand Junction… certainly not the desert heat of Tucson! But with a dry job market in my desired areas and a dry climate sadly setting Colorado a-blaze, my plan became flexible. With all the recent changes to find the right “fit” within the RV’ing lifestyle, staying put now grants me more time to explore all the things still left to discover in Arizona. I also had to use my week between assignments for the not so fun task of driving to/from Austin just to register my vehicle and RV I purchased here in Arizona. Quite the headache, but yet another exercise in flexibility.

I find it best to approach travel PT with a global plan because without thinking about life panned out in a few thirteen week intervals, it’s easy to lose grasp on how few travel assignments actually suck up a whole year. But the best laid plans need to be flexible. Here are some questions I have asked myself during this assignment transition:

• What is the back up plan if an assignment is ended early?
• What if your goal destination doesn’t have available positions in the time frame you need?
• What other state PT licenses do you hold as options, and is there such a thing as maintaining too many?
• How far away can you go while not breaking the bank with unpaid travel time and the expenses to get to your assignment?
• Can you take time in between for a road tripping adventure?
• What changes can you make to the plan to squeeze in those unexpected “taking care of business” hassles?

If you consider traveling as an RVer, also be sure your primary and secondary plans take into account seasonal differences. Driving conditions, freezing hoses/pipes, tornadoes/hurricanes are all examples of Mother Nature’s impact on the plans of a RVing travel PT. These regional and climate considerations are also key when building your potential travel route across several assignments.

Leave a Reply

