The “learning to live with less” mantra only works so long in < 23 feet of space

2 Jun

A little housekeeping post to start the update on one of several living arrangement transitions… Over the past month, it has dawned on me that a 23 foot motor home didn’t, in fact, offer that equivalent in living space. I quickly learned how tight the quarters were when my phone-chat pacing habit became quite dizzying. That, along with the constant shuffle of personal items, furniture, and gigantic dog crate, started those cogwheels in my head to turn. As often happens on a journey of self-discovery, I found myself discounting my entire original rationale then crunching numbers and making a plan to somehow upgrade my RV living space in the fall when I returned to Austin for a hiatus.

Then, as if by divine intervention, the opportunity to purchase a practically new fifth wheel RV and trusty pick-up truck as a steal-of-a-deal fell in my lap. At the mercy of the classically unpredictable acute care PT schedule, I orchestrated the purchase and move from ol’ MH to the new fifth wheel in a series of evening and one-day-off stints. God bless the insane American dream that allows a 30-something to have in her possession 4 vehicles and a tow dolly at the same time. (It’s actually anxiety producing even just typing the scenario. Deep breaths.) Although the logistics of financing, purchasing, licensing, registering, and selling my former vehicles can easily be considered a nightmare, I will gladly trade my week between assignments to trek back to ATX for vehicle mayhem in exchange for the added space. Remind me of this when I’m 1.) still financially spread thin, 2.) freaking out while attempting to hitch the fifth wheel solo, and/or 3.) trying to parallel park the truck in an urban locale.

From cramped and cluttered  (packing/moving day!) …

… to rollin’ with the big dogs!

20120602-223213.jpg

Feels a little bit more like a “home” on wheels now!

20120602-223232.jpg

Leave a Reply

