Snow lover meets Snowbirds

17 Apr

RV park living is a whole different culture.  Particularly here, where there are still a lot of “snowbirds”—seniors who migrate to the desert’s winter warmth, fleeing the arctic blast of the northern US or Canada.  Imagine the raised eyebrows and questioning stares as an unfamiliar “young girl” toting a six pack of beer walks into their St. Patty’s Day party.  Now, I love me some senior citizens; it’s part of why I love the areas of physical therapy practice in which I often work.  Seniors, however, are often more guarded with outsiders to their circle.  All this situation needed was a little ice breaker, right?  That came quickly while I watched a frosty white haired lady being whisked around the dance floor, shuffling precariously backward.  My PT switch clicked on and commented, “You know, so many backward steps are a hip fracture waiting to happen.  They’re going to fall down… aaannnyyy… minute…”  And BAM! Down they tumbled.  It was actually relatively graceful, but I hear a mild Irish buzz may have aided that.  As we hoisted somebody’s sweet grandma off the dance floor, everyone quickly knew who I was and what I did for a living.

Although not incredibly social with the part-timer who is at least 3 decades younger than most of them, RVers collectively are politely friendly folks.  I rarely drive by a person without a smile and a wave exchanged.  But now, as the desert slowly heats up, the snowbirds are migrating back to their northern homes.  I do look forward to the upcoming days of less inquisitive (slightly judgmental) eyes and less yappy miniature dogs.

Leave a Reply

