Ready for adventuring

28 Oct

Tonight was bittersweet. For those who don’t stalk me on FB the way I do you 😉  … The pre-blog recap about me is:  I get stir crazy. I have insatiable wanderlust that has a ~ 1-2 year shelf life before rearing its (beautifully inspiring and liberating) ugly head. I have been at a fantastically challenging, preconceived-by-self “dream” neurologic/ complex medical physical therapist job for beyond the length of time when that pesky itch to rove usually kicks in (Go, me!).  But then I turned 30 and had not a crisis but an AWAKENING (okay, a smidge of a crisis).  I realize, balance is not a luxury but a necessity.

SO…. the plan was put into motion to take an approach of “life with a side of work”. Notice given: check. Trip to Argentina approaching: check. The great beyond in my reach: check check.

Fast forward to today.  The “Go away, Jen!” party (not only what fits on that tiny calendar square but apropos of my sense of humor) was a supportive, heartwarming gathering that made me (“Princess Gray Cloud”) feel a bit warm, fuzzy, and teary with nostalgia (which I confirm can, in fact, happen mere hours after you are done with your full time employee status).  It’s hard to make the decision to leave one chapter of your professional life, when you thought it would be your infinite niche. Then it turns out— Shit!— the work you embrace with a fiery passion isn’t built for a balanced version of yourself in the long haul.  Not right now, at least.

It’s hard to leave a group of therapists  who have impassioned me despite my innate calling to wander.  This trip to Argentina has been planned for more than a year (and for reasons unrelated to my next chapter to be a travel PT) but it is fitting to have an exciting, international journey to catalyze my other coinciding new life adventure.

Lucky for me (and the spirit of this blog!), this introspective gray cloud crap stops here.  What happens between now and all this life-altering hullabaloo is some bad ass Argentine fun!! I love me some Spanish-y goodness. 🙂

… Mom’s here from AZ! Packing and final preparations tomorrow. Departing Saturday morning! Whoot whoot!

Holla.

– Jen

Leave a Reply

